Maple Pumpkin Pie

11 Oct

This was the pie that wasn’t supposed to happen.  It was 8 a clock on a Tuesday night and I was starving.  Munching on an apple, I impatiently stirred a pot of pasta when my boyfriend told me he would be right back, he was out of soda water.  Before I could yell at him to hurry up because I would gnaw my own arm off if I didn’t get a proper meal soon, he slammed the door shut. Two minutes later, he called me from the grocery store.  The man wanted a pumpkin pie and asked if he should buy one.  Why he thought it was a good idea to insult me with such a ridiculous question, I have no idea. So in my most calm voice, I said “ No, I’ll make you one”

Fast forward two hours later; I was on the ground clutching my hand because our new entertainment center slammed shut on my fingers.  With a bum hand, no pumpkin pie action would happen in our kitchen that night or at least I thought.  My boyfriend has the power of persuasion.  He offered to do everything; all I had to do was direct. An offer he knew I couldn’t refuse.  The next morning when the pie wasn’t a soupy mess anymore, I had a slice for breakfast. It was silky smooth with a hint of maple and tons of flavor from the spices.  Perfecto! Enjoy.

Makes 8 servings.

Ingredients

  • 1 8-inch deep-dish pie crust, either store-bought or homemade
  • 1 15-ounce can pumpkin pie
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/8 cup maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • Pinch of cloves
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 F.

In a bowl combine pumpkin, sugar, maple syrup, the spices, and salt. Add eggs; beat with a fork until combined. Gradually add milk; stir until combined. Carefully pour filling in pastry shell. Cover edge of pie crust with foil. Bake 30 minutes. Remove foil. Bake 25 to 30 minutes more or until a knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack. Cover and refrigerate over night.

Adapted from here

13 Responses to “Maple Pumpkin Pie”

  1. amy donovan (@amy_donovan) October 11, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Sounds like you + your boyfriend make a great team. I would LOVE a slice of this for breakfast tomorrow – there’s something about leftover pie for breakfast that i can never resist!

    • lapetitebaker October 11, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      We make a great team when he listens to my directions..haha. Breakfast Pie is amazing!

  2. Jody Thompson October 11, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Looks totally yummy. I’m so craving pumpkin pie right now too.

    • lapetitebaker October 11, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      Thank you! I am always craving pumpkin pie. Its a problem..haha

  3. sarah October 12, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    I just checked out your site for the first time and your desserts look amazing!

    • lapetitebaker October 12, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Thank you! You’re so kind.

  4. Erin @ Texanerin Baking October 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Aww. What a nice story! Except the painful hand part. That’s so sweet that your boyfriend made this. And I’d feel the same if my husband asked if he should buy some cookies or something. The answer is always NO. :)

    • lapetitebaker October 14, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      Thanks! I’m glad I am not the only who bans supermarket baked goods in their house..haha.

  5. Hayley @ The Domestic Rebel October 15, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Holyyy cowabunga, this pie looks so good! Maple AND pumpkin… a true flavor love story.

    • lapetitebaker October 16, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

      Thank you! I was surprised how well the maple complimented the pumpkin, it was delightful.

  6. Mikaela Cowles October 15, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Hello pumpkin goodness. Don’t mind if I do.

  7. Stephie @ Eat Your Heart Out October 15, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    Haha! Sounds like the way I would react to that question. :-)

  8. Rose Taylor October 16, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    This is a pie I must make! Deliciously wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Just a Smidgen

..a lifestyle blog filled with recipes, photography, poems, and DIY

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Young, Broke and Hungry

A Modern Girls Guide to Living on the Cheap

While Chasing Kids

Russian mom posts about her cooking, learning, and loving while chasing her kids

Clean eats and bakes with a side of pancakes.

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince

Craving pancakes all day, every day.

Julienne

a girl with a big passion for food

Run Now, Wine Later

...because life is all about balance

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. https://www.facebook.com/BunnyandPorkBelly https://twitter.com/BunnyNPorkBelly bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Tasting It All

Writing, recipes and ramblings from a girl to whom food is the world.

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Foodologie

A Blog about Balancing Health with a Constant Desire to Eat Cake

All You Do Is Eat

Professional Eater. Amateur Cook.

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

Salted Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

The Scrumptious Pumpkin

transforming organic, fresh, whole ingredients into easy, everyday delicious dishes

littleleopardbook

the cooking secrets of a single girl

The Newlywed Chefs

keeping a fresh outlook on life, love, and food

Recipes Happen

- She came, she saw, she couponed, she cooked, and she conquered

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

The Domestic Rebel

Everyday Ingredients, Extraordinary Desserts

Emmy Cooks

favorite recipes from a Northwest kitchen

Comfortably Domestic

Family friendly food and fun.

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

