Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies

29 Mar


I suck at being a girl. I can’t curl my hair without burning my scalp, I can’t paint my nails without the nail polish getting all over my fingers, I can’t even hold a steak knife properly. Ever since I was little, I have held the knife in a death grip until my mom  showed me the proper way ( I was disgracing her french heritage after all).  The one thing I can do that is slightly girly is bake, but I somehow even mess that up sometimes.  I am so ADD that when I try to follow a recipe, I forget the extra cup of flour or the ever so important baking soda, so these ingredients never actually get mixed in the proper order. However, there are some days when the fates align and my mistakes turn into something so good that I don’t even know how it happened. For example, yesterday, I made Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies. I did not have vanilla extract so I put french vanilla extract instead and a dash of almond extract.  The cookies tasted like vanilla pudding with toffee and chocolate mixed in. This recipe will definitely be my new go to cookie recipe. So remember to gut through your mistakes and try something a little different every once in awhile.  You might create something you love even more then the original.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon french vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 large egg
  • 1/2 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
  • 1 cup of Heath Bits-o-Brickle Toffee Bits
  1. PREHEAT oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. COMBINE flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and french vanilla extract and almond extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips and Heath Bits. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.
  3. BAKE for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely
2 Responses to “Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Mike March 29, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Dang, those look and sound fantastic. Grandpa used to make toffee, mom used to make toffee, and I’m apparently useless. I need to try these sometime soon

  2. investment advisor April 14, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    I love to eat cookie dough. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Just a Smidgen

..a lifestyle blog filled with recipes, photography, poems, and DIY

Young, Broke and Hungry

Recipes to nourish your soul and your wallet.

While Chasing Kids

Russian mom posts about things that happen in and around her kitchen

WhitneyBond.com - Easy and flavorful recipes made in 29 minutes or less, in one pot, or in a crock pot!

Easy and flavorful recipes made in 29 minutes or less, in one pot, or in a crock pot!

The Pancake Princess

Clean eats and bakes with a side of pancakes.

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Julienne

a girl with a big passion for food

Run Now, Wine Later

...because life is all about balance

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Foodologie

A Blog about Balancing Health with a Constant Desire to Eat Cake

All You Do Is Eat

Professional Eater. Amateur Cook.

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

littleleopardbook

the cooking secrets of a single girl

The Newlywed Chefs

keeping a fresh outlook on life, love, and food

Recipes Happen

- She came, she saw, she couponed, she cooked, and she conquered

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

The Domestic Rebel

Everyday Ingredients, Extraordinary Desserts

Emmy Cooks

favorite recipes from a Northwest kitchen

Comfortably Domestic

Real Food. Real Life.

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Moonlight Baker

It all started with a midnight brownie...

