Late Night Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

6 Apr



 

Moving out on your own is thrilling; you get to stay up all night and bake weird concoctions that pop into your head while not worrying about banging cookware and waking up the entire household. Then doing a happy dance in the middle of your kitchen because it actually tastes really good. These are the things I love about being on my own. But there is one thing that I hate and that is doing laundry in my dingy apartment basement. Basements creep me out to no end because, frankly, nothing ever good happens in basements.  I always feel like carrying a kitchen knife with me in the laundry basket, but I don’t think stabbing your neighbor accidentally is the right way to introduce yourself.  In order to avoid looking like the crazy lady, I usually take my 3 weeks worth of laundry to my parent’s house, which ends up with me taking a bag of food home on top of clean smelling laundry. You’ve got to love parents, am I right? This time, my mom sent me home with three over ripe bananas and some butter. When I was little, one of my fondest memories was baking banana bread with my mom. She hates following recipes so she would always throw the weirdest ingredients into the bread. I loved it though and still do because it has taught me to take chances when baking. When I went home the other night with the bananas and butter, I didn’t plan on making banana bread but I felt this urge to recreate a piece of home in my new home.  I tweaked the recipe to my liking and when that banana bread came out looking so pretty, I did a happy dance right in the middle of my kitchen. Boy, do I love being on my own, minus the freaky basement, of course.

Ingredients

  • 2 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 ounces unsalted butter, at room temperature (1/2 cup)
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 2 large eggs, preferably at room temperature
  • About 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • Mini chocolate Chips
  • Powdered Sugar


Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degree F. Butter a 9 to 10 inch Bundt Pan with butter and sprinkle with flour.

Whisk the flour, baking soda and salt together. Set aside. Beat the butter until creamy and then add the sugar. Beat on medium speed until pale and fluffy. Add the vanilla and then the eggs one at a time. Reduce the mixer speed to low and mix in the bananas. Finally, add the sour cream and half the flour mixture. Wait a minute or two and then add the rest of the flour mixture. Sprinkle a tablespoon of flour over the chocolate chips and fold into the batter. Scrape the batter into the bundt pan, rap it against the counter to de-bubble the batter  and smooth the top.  Stick it into the 350 degree F oven for 45 min, halfway through rotate the bundt pan to even the browning process. It will be done when you stick a toothpick in and it comes out clean. Wait till it cools down and sprinkle powdered sugar on top. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Late Night Chocolate Chip Banana Bread”

  1. Charlotte Phillips April 6, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    this sounds really good! i’m gonna try to make it!

  2. keepsmeoutofmischief April 6, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Yum!

  3. investment advisor April 14, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    I’m gonna try to make this!

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Just a Smidgen

..a lifestyle blog filled with recipes, photography, poems, and DIY

Young, Broke and Hungry

Recipes to nourish your soul and your wallet.

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

While Chasing Kids

Russian mom posts about things that happen in and around her kitchen

WhitneyBond.com - Easy and flavorful recipes made in 29 minutes or less, in one pot, or in a crock pot!

Easy and flavorful recipes made in 29 minutes or less, in one pot, or in a crock pot!

The Pancake Princess

Clean eats and bakes with a side of pancakes.

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Julienne

a girl with a big passion for food

Run Now, Wine Later

...because life is all about balance

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Foodologie

A Blog about Balancing Health with a Constant Desire to Eat Cake

All You Do Is Eat

Professional Eater. Amateur Cook. Sydney Food Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

littleleopardbook

the cooking secrets of a single girl

The Newlywed Chefs

keeping a fresh outlook on life, love, and food

Recipes Happen

- She came, she saw, she couponed, she cooked, and she conquered

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

The Domestic Rebel

Everyday Ingredients, Extraordinary Desserts

Emmy Cooks

favorite recipes from a Northwest kitchen

Comfortably Domestic

Real Food. Real Life.

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Moonlight Baker

It all started with a midnight brownie...

