Salted Bourbon Chocolate Chip Bars

12 Jul
Flour stains my jeans, batter is caked in my hair and mixing bowls line the counter. The smell of caramel perfumes my apartment with its intoxicating scent.
Two weeks ago, I moved into a new place. My third move in 7 months. Can you believe I didn’t see my apartment until the day I signed the lease?  It’s true. My mom saw it for me and since I trusted her opinion, I gave her the go ahead.  Best decision I ever made.
 When I moved out of my house when I was eighteen, I lived in four different apartments and none of them felt like mine. It doesn’t matter how many pictures you hang on the walls, or pieces of furniture you cram into the space, it, just doesn’t capture you as a person.  I am glad to report this time was different.  When I walked into my second story walk-up, I knew I was home.  This was where I was supposed to be the whole time.  Yes, it’s not modern, with no dishwasher, microwave or garbage disposal. Nor is the kitchen particularly big with only one counter lining the far wall.  But what it lacks in modern conveniences, it makes up in old world charm.  Hardwood floors span the living room and hallway, crown molding on the 10 feet ceilings and my most favorite feature of all, the checkerboard tile in the kitchen.  At first I was reluctant to start baking until I had a dining room table to work on.  The small counter space doesn’t offer much room for anything.  Nonetheless, my hands itched to create.  So this past Tuesday, I got to work and whipped up a batch of Salted Bourbon Chocolate Chip bars. The bourbon adds a sense of sophistication to an otherwise simple chocolate chip cookie.  Enjoy!

Serves 12

Ingredients 

  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons bourbon
  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon fleur de sel or coarse salt

Directions 

Preheat the oven to 325 F. Grease a 8 by 8 inch square pan and line with foil. Set aside.

Heat the brown sugar and butter together over low heat until the sugar is melted. Let cool ( I stuck my saucepan in the refrigerator for about 5 minutes) Whisk the dry ingredients together, and set aside. Beat together the cooled butter mixture with the egg, vanilla, salt, and bourbon. Stir in the flour, and then the chocolate, until just combined. Spread batter in the pan, and bake for 18 minutes, until light golden brown. Sprinkle with fleur de sel or course salt.

Taken from here

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Just a Smidgen

..a lifestyle blog filled with recipes, photography, poems, and DIY

Young, Broke and Hungry

Recipes to nourish your soul and your wallet.

While Chasing Kids

Russian mom posts about things that happen in and around her kitchen

WhitneyBond.com - Easy and flavorful recipes made in 29 minutes or less, in one pot, or in a crock pot!

Easy and flavorful recipes made in 29 minutes or less, in one pot, or in a crock pot!

The Pancake Princess

Clean eats and bakes with a side of pancakes.

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Julienne

a girl with a big passion for food

Run Now, Wine Later

...because life is all about balance

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Foodologie

A Blog about Balancing Health with a Constant Desire to Eat Cake

All You Do Is Eat

Professional Eater. Amateur Cook.

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

littleleopardbook

the cooking secrets of a single girl

The Newlywed Chefs

keeping a fresh outlook on life, love, and food

Recipes Happen

- She came, she saw, she couponed, she cooked, and she conquered

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

The Domestic Rebel

Everyday Ingredients, Extraordinary Desserts

Emmy Cooks

favorite recipes from a Northwest kitchen

Comfortably Domestic

Real Food. Real Life.

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Moonlight Baker

It all started with a midnight brownie...

