Buttermilk Ice Cream with Caramel Syrup

3 May

When I was at my parent’s house, I found an ice cream maker.  How random is that? I have wanted one for quite some time and now I don’t have to go out and buy one.  When I got home, I started my search for an ice cream recipe that didn’t involve eggs. I found my perfect match in a back issue of Bon Appetite. It was so simple to make that I was doubtful it would turn out good.  However, I proved myself wrong when I tasted that first bite.  It tops vanilla and that says a lot. I made a batch of buttermilk caramel syrup  to drizzle on top but feel free to get creative. Enjoy!

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups chilled whole milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup chilled heavy whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk
Directions 
Combine all ingredients in large bowl; stir until sugar dissolves. Process in ice cream maker according to manufactures instructions. Transfer ice cream to container; cover and freeze until firm, at least 6 hours and up to two days.

One Response to “Buttermilk Ice Cream with Caramel Syrup”

  1. thatshowiroll May 5, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    This ice-cream must be delicious! I love that has simple ingredients, those are always my favorite recipes. I also like my ice-cream to be egg-free, so I would have to try this really soon. Thanks for posting!

Leave a comment

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Just a Smidgen

..a lifestyle blog filled with recipes, photography, poems, and DIY

The Pancake Princess

A baking blog curating internet recipes.

Julienne

a girl with a big passion for food

Foodologie

A Blog about Balancing Health with a Constant Desire to Eat Cake

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

Jen Elizabeth's Journals

I'm an ordinary mom on a crazy, messy, thrilling spiritual journey

littleleopardbook

the cooking secrets of a single girl

The Newlywed Chefs

keeping a fresh outlook on life, love, and food

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Emmy Cooks

favorite recipes from a Northwest kitchen

Comfortably Domestic

Real Food. Real Life.

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Moonlight Baker

It all started with a midnight brownie...

The Candid Appetite

Where Cooking Meets Photography

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school